I read Twilight, yeah

This is not a book review.

At this moment, I am re-reading my copy of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight. I believe it’s the seventh or eight time. And yes, I believe that I am still enjoying what I’m reading. Of the series it is may favorite.

I don’t own a lot of books (though my mother would highly object to this), but the few that I have I am fond of reading repeatedly. I have already told you about the multiple times I have read twilight. Before that I had finished reading Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood (about the murders of the Clutter family in Holcomb, Kansas in 1959 and a somewhat biography of the two killers Perry Edward Smith and Richard Hickock) for the third time.

Other books in my collection which I have read multiple of times are (to name a few): Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games (thrice); Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code (twice), and The Lost Symbol (twice); J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and Sorcerer’s Stone (twice), Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secretes (twice), Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (thrice), and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (twice); and the book that started it all, R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps (countless of volumes, countless of times when I was a kid).

The First Goosebumps book I owned

Oh, The complete collections of Novels and Short Stories of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes Volume I and II (a number of times, giddy).

I have also read works by local writers such as Liwayway Arceo’s Canal de la Reina (set in the time of Martial Law in the Philippines under the late President Ferdinand Marcos, a symbolic story that consummated with a terrible flood that brought all the characters lives together, read it four times), and Lualhati Bautista’s Gapo (Gapo is short for Olongapo, a province in the Philippines where principal American bases were located and how these bases affected the lives of Filipinos living near them, read it twice).

Why do I keep reading these books instead of buying new ones (or borrowing)? I don’t like to borrow books, that takes care of that. I’d rather get to know my books better (yeah, that sounds weird), read things that I may have missed the first time I read them (Bella bought her groceries from the Thriftway, Perry Smith’s older brother was originally named after their father Tex Smith), I like my books to look like they have been read over-and-over (my copy of Twilight is so worn, tape holds the front cover in place), and I don’t want to shell out a lot of cash for some other books.

Of course I have books that I’ve only read once (so far) such as Thomas Harris’ Hannibal and Douglas Preston’s The Monster of Florence for some reasons. My copy of Hannibal was borrowed by my girlfriend and I hated The Monster (good thing I bought it on sale).

I guess, the books that really hold my interest keep on whetting my imagination’s appetite and thus I keep coming back to them. I don’t own a lot of books, the few that I have (most of them anyway, hate the Monster) are the ones I truly love. I read the entire Hunger Games in a bookstore that allows people to read within their store, and after reading the book there I bought it and read it again.

In a sense, therefore, one could say that I love books.

(I do not own the pictures, but I own books that have the same cover as these pictures. Whatever)

Peace 😉

5 thoughts on “I read Twilight, yeah

Leave a Reply

